My Year with an All-Electric MINI


Uh-oh, rain and charging at work?

Posted in Uncategorized by Timothy Gill on June 18, 2009

Well, as some of you know, it’s been raining forever in the New York City area (it feels like we’ve seen the sun for about a half day every week or so for the past two months).  But did I think about that when I arranged yesterday to get a free “fill-up” today?   Nope!   So this morning I realized, with an outside outlet at the self-storage business, I couldn’t risk charging it there with the rain coming down.  I assume it’s a no-no, though I have to admit I have not checked the manual.  (Speaking of which, I sure don’t understand why there isn’t  a PDF version of the MINI E manual on MINI USA’s web site—it would sure be helpful.)

Actually, as I went out to check the battery this morning, to see how it had done even though I knew I could not take the car—I found that the GFI had tripped again, but apparently after about 9 hours, as it had added 28% charge since I plugged it in last night.  But at only 83% full, I probably would not have driven it to work for the first time even if it were sunny.  If my backup plan with the self-storage business doesn’t work out, I want to have some chance to make it home at night.  But maybe I should take Robert’s advice and relax and enjoy writing a blog entry about the first towing due to battery drain.

2 Responses to 'Uh-oh, rain and charging at work?'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Uh-oh, rain and charging at work?'.

  1. Joel said,

    You can find the PDF version of the MINI E owners manual here:

    http://www.motoringfile.com/2009/06/12/official-mini-e-owners-manual/

  2. Timothy Gill said,

    Thanks, Joel. But I still don’t understand why MINI doesn’t have one on their web site!


Leave a Reply

