My Year with an All-Electric MINI


rental garage space & metering usage

Posted in Uncategorized by Timothy Gill on April 21, 2009

So, I have found a neighbor a few houses away, and someone else 2 blocks away, who are both willing to rent me space in their 2-car garage for my MINI E.  They have 240V power either in the garage or close to it, so I am hoping this will work out.   I was called last Wednesday by the folks at Green Power Technologies, who are arranging the inspections here in NJ, and was hoping to have one scheduled by now, but not yet…  not sure what the delay is.

In the meantime, I have been trying to learn about the possibilities of getting a meter of some sort to measure just my usage, so I can pay an accurate amount of their bill.  I know nothing about electricity, but using Stefano Paris’s comment on another blog, I did some web searching, learned about submetering, and am wondering if the Milbank CL200 he talks about will do the trick—some other submetering solutions sure seem expensive.  I will have to ask the inspection electrician.

In the meantime, today I received the invitation to the MINI E event in NYC on May 13.  It came wrapped around a Kleen Kanteen stainless steel water bottle…

One Response to 'rental garage space & metering usage'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'rental garage space & metering usage'.

  1. stuartist said,

    I hope the rental works out for you. I just had my inspection today and everything is fine. I can split one of my existing breakers so no additional circuit box will be necessary. I’ll see you at the event on May 13.

    -Stu
    http://www.stuartistry.com/my-mini-e


Leave a Reply

