My Year with an All-Electric MINI


Recognition?

Posted in Uncategorized by Timothy Gill on June 23, 2009

I have been wondering, along with many other participants, if people would recognize the car or not.  I have not driven it much so far (200 miles) because of rain, GFI, commute distance issues, but except for the first day, no one has noticed.  Five minutes after I left the dealer, I pulled into a Staples to buy a notebook to do my logging of miles and charging, and as I got out, a guy getting into his Honda asked “Is that a plug-in hybrid?”.  I said “No, all electric” at which point he asked “How do you like it?”.  I said I loved it but 5 minutes was probably not long enough to make a reasonable judgment…

When I got home, a neighbor whose 2nd floor office overlooks my house came out and said “Is that an electric car?”  He could clearly see the roof symbol.  But other than that, I have had no comments.

One Response to 'Recognition?'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Recognition?'.

  1. Matt said,

    This seems like a relevant post to comment on. I saw you this morning on Broad St, turning left on to Rt. 35 N. I immediately noticed the lack of a tailpipe, and was able to catch the number on your car before you turned. A quick google search of ‘electric mini 486′ led me here. Thanks for all of the detail, it’s been an interesting read.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

