My Year with an All-Electric MINI


Some range data for my first 200 miles: not great

Posted in Uncategorized by Timothy Gill on June 21, 2009

I have been logging our driving and charging to get data for both mileage and charging, and I just reached 200 miles this evening.  I know that some participants have already reached 1000 miles, but I have reasons for my low mileage:

  • cannot drive it to work yet
  • 110 v charging only
  • GFI in garage keeps tripping during the night
  • rain, rain, rain in the NYC area
    But here is the log of our drives for 8 days:

Date

Nature of Drive
or
Charge

Odometer

start – end: total

driving style

START
% battery

END
% battery

% charge used per mile

imputed “range”

06-12

home from dealer

26-42: 16

cautious

100%

81%

1.2%

84 mi

06-13

test drives

42-72: 30

demo, some zip

84%

51%

1.1%

91 mi

06-14

test drives

72-118: 46

demo

81%

31%

1.1%

92 mi

06-15

wife to school, work

118-131: 13

48%

32%

1.2%

81 mi

06-15

wife from work, school

131-143: 12

45%

31%

1.2%

86 mi

06-16

wife to/from work, errands

143-164: 21

65%

37%

1.3%

75 mi

06-18

wife work, errands

164-184:20

83%

62%

1.1%

95 mi

06-20

errands in town

184-201: 17

gentle

100%

71%

1.7%

59 mi

I am NOT pleased with these results so far.  I have an 89-mile commute that I have not been able to do yet, because I need:

  1. a sunny day so I can get a top-off charge near work
  2. a way to top off my charge at or near work
  3. a 100% charge when I leave in the morning

But with our recent month of rainy weather (my neighbor has almost finished his ark :-} ), my hassles getting my place of work to allow charging, and the GFI problems in my 110v garage, none of these conditions have been possible to coordinate.  So I am left to tracking the mileage we get during errands and my wife’s short commute to get a sense of how the car will do when I am able to drive it on my commute—and it does not look good.  The fact that I have not heard from CFCI or the electrician about the install of the wall charger in my neighbor’s garage does not add to my sense of peace.

From reading other blogs, it seems that people are getting no more than 100 miles range.  So why did MINI  put a 156 mile range figure in the specs,  even for under ideal conditions?  Is that downhill only?  Yes, it says 109/96/104 estimate under normal
driving conditions
and I hope to get that, which would let me commute without (much) anxiety.  But there was even a press release in October, 2008 (which I cannot find on the MINI USA web site) that only mentioned the 150-mile range figure…   I will link to it if I find it.

It is strange to get the kind of variability that I see in the data for the first week.  I hope it settles down soon!

3 Responses to 'Some range data for my first 200 miles: not great'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Some range data for my first 200 miles: not great'.

  1. Robert said,

    Tim,
    I really like your chart, I’ll try to put something like that together myself. I dont understand why your getting such low range numbers, I’m regularly seeing over 100 miles per full charge, unless I’m on the highway, driving 65mph I’m seeing 90-95 mile ranges.
    I do notice these are very short drives, this may increase the margin of error in your calculations, I’ve seen some fluxuation in the % charge for no obvious reason, both up and down. The MINI E may sit unplugged and not moving and I’ll see the % charge climb 3-4%,, or It may drop dramatically over a very short distance driving then climb slowly back up, over a few miles so in the end Im at the same charge level.

  2. Adam #161 said,

    http://franklinhills.org/09meeting.html

    public viewing of #161 to get the locals excited. I am also keeping a diary-up to 93+ miles on a mixed surface/freeway 3-day cycle between work and home (about 10 miles). WANT MORE MILES!!!!

  3. Mini E # 458 said,

    I have seen other reports of GFI’s tripping. I had one that tripped for no reason, it was very new. I have had three other GFIs tat work fine but they are older. The guy at Clipper Creek says there have been so many cost reductions to GFIs that some are flaky. Maybe get a new one from a contractor supply house, not Home Cheapo or Lowes. Sorry, I meant not Home Depot.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

